The Queensland Shows Awards (QSAs) celebrated the dedication and innovation of ag show
volunteers from across the state at the weekend.

Six runners-up and winners, from a pool of 18 nominees were announced at the annual Queensland
Ag Shows (QAS) Gala Dinner on Saturday 14 March, hosted by the QAS Next Generation Committee.
Judged by an independent panel, including Royal National Agricultural & Industrial Association of
Queensland (RNA) CEO, Brendan Christou; 2019 National Rural Ambassador, Harris Thompson and
Chair of Agricultural Shows of Australia (ASA), Dr Rob Wilson, winners and runners-up included:

Emerging leader

  • Winner – Amy Palmer, Cunnamulla Show Society
  • Runner-up – Amanda Riehl, Pittsworth Show Society

Best Innovation in a Local Event

  • Winner – Dayboro Show Society Kids’ Zone & Agri Education Pavilion
  • Runner-up – Pittsworth Show Active Volunteers Program

Outstanding Individual Contribution

  • Winner – Katherine Raymont, Gatton Show
  • Runner-up – Barbara Mapp, Redcliffe Show

Dr Rob Wilson congratulated all nominees.

“These categories reflect and recognise the very best of the huge contribution that individuals,
volunteers and the community undertake at their local shows and which may continue for many
years, or indeed for some, a lifetime,” he said.

“It is encouraging that organisations such as Queensland Ag Shows and the Next Generation
Committee recognise the value in supporting these awards and provide a showcase for the wider
community to acknowledge and celebrate these important and lasting contribution to the show

The event followed the QAS annual general meeting, which was held in Rockhampton for the first

QAS Next Generation Committee President, Kaitlyn Murphy said she was impressed by the number
and quality of nominations.

“We are proud to host these awards and are inspired by the stories and innovations of the
outstanding nominees who are contributing to their communities and Queensland’s 127 local
agricultural shows in a big, lasting way,” she said

Click this link for photos from the 2020 Gala Dinner and of category winners.