This article written by Ben Harden first appeared in Queensland Country Life

CENTRAL Queensland’s youngest and brightest brought their stud judging skills and public speaking abilities to the Rockhampton Show ring for the stud beef junior judging on Thursday.

A packed field of more than 120 young judges were asked to mark Brahman bulls, before finalists were chosen to speak on the cattle.

First place ribbons were awarded to Ruby Olsen (12 years and under), Charli White (13 years), Jessica Chapman (14 years), Cody Killalea (15 years) and Cameron Mortimer (16 years and over).

Fifteen-year-old Cody Killalea scored the highest points on the day, a whopping 94 points, earning him an invitation to judge and speak at the subchamber stud beef junior judging finals in Biloela from June 14-15.

Over judge for the junior section Wayne York, Karragarra, Emerald, who earlier judged the stud beef cattle and led steer competition, said he was blown away by the calibre of entrants.

“Congratulations to everyone that got up to speak. All the juniors did very well,” Mr York said.

Mr York, who came up through young judges competitions himself, offered constructive feedback for juniors on the day to consider for future competitions.

“Just a reminder of a few things that I always like to see when I’m in the judging ring. I like to see cream pants if you can wear them and polished shoes,” he said.

“We have to keep those standards high and I think that presentation is a big plus.”

Check out the winners

12 and under winners: First Ruby Olsen, second Sophie McKay, third Ben Kingston, fourth Annalise Jones and fifth Ryder Gate with judge Wayne York, Emerald.

13 years and under: First Charli White, second Riley Jensen, third Stetson McGhee, fourth Madison Bailey and fifth Ella Davison with judge Wayne York, Emerald.

14 years and under: First Jessica Chapman, second Greta Smith, third Macee McGilvray, fourth Sophie Cutting and fifth Dawson Jones with judge Wayne York, Emerald.

15 years and under: First Cody Killalea, second Anna Rose Chapman, third Oscar Hills, fourth Connor Leeson and fifth Zac Armstrong with judge Wayne York.

16 years and over: First Cameron Mortimer, second Lucy Prentice, third Hayden Hanson, fourth Meg Ingram and fifth Cassidy Watson with judge Wayne York.